Wednesday, January 27, 2010

Move Over Law

Important Law to Share:

Important to know, and not just in California, yet in California, the "Move-over" law was revised on January 1, 2010.

Various emails tell about a web site called and warns drivers about a new Move-Over Law that became effective on January 01, 2010. The email warns that failure to slow down or move over when encountering emergency response or law enforcement vehicles could result in heavy fines. One example says that this is a new law in the state of California and mentions a motorist who was fined $754, given three points were added to his driving record and was ordered to appear in court.

The Truth:
A move over law requires motorists to slow down, approach with caution or pull over when encountering an emergency or law enforcement vehicle with flashing lights on the road. There are such laws governing in most states throughout the United States. is a real web site that educates drivers on the need to slow down and move over in order to protect law enforcement and emergency responders.

Fines for violations varies from state to state. Visitors to the Move over America web site can check their local laws and fines simply by clicking their home state. Some states may fine violators as low as $40, others have fines as high as $500 and include jail time.

The move over law is not new in the state of California but it was amended on New Years Day, 2010. The fine for failure to approach with caution and not pass on an adjacent lane of an emergency or law enforcement vehicle with flashing lights in the Golden State is $50 according to California State Bill 240 which amended Section 21809 of the California State Vehicle Code . Click for California State Bill 240.

Currently, there are no move-over laws in Hawaii, New York, Maryland and Washington DC.

Some municipalities may add an assessment fee to state fines which could increase fines considerably.

A forwarded email version gives the example of the sender's son returning from a Wal-mart on Pleasant Hill who failed to change lanes while passing a police car from Duluth, Minnesota on the side of the road performing a routine traffic stop. The email said the son was given a $745 fine, three points on his driving record and mandated to court. The fine in Minnesota is $25 fine for this violation.

There is also a petition box on the Move Over America web site for visitors to sign to alert state legislators.

Truth or Fiction: Move Over Laws
updated 01/26/10

For a letter dated 12/10/03:
Snopes: Move Over


Donna said...

Texas law...Move your butts OVER...and if NOT? They'll get 'cha!
Great info swetie!

Donna said...

Happy Saint Patricks Day to you!!

Donna said...

Happy Easter Friend!!!